Skip to content

Vulgar Opinions: NHL Goes Charging Forward

04/11/13
by

By now most of you have heard that the NHL and the NHLPA have decided to officially partner with the You Can Play project.  Most major outlets are covering it so run to Google and pick your favorite if you want to learn more.  I run two Twitter accounts, my personal one that is linked on this website, and one for my LGBT blog.  Each has it’s own list of follows with a few overlaps.  What has struck me today is that this partnership is getting pretty equal play from both sides.  People that wouldn’t normally be talking about hockey are now talking about hockey.

Are there a lot of sports fans in the LGBT community?  Maybe, maybe not.  But the LGBT community is an enormous group of people just itching for support.  The NHL is doing the right thing with this partnership, but that doesn’t mean that it’s not also doing a good thing for itself.  Now the NHL can boast something that no other major professional sports league in the United States can.  That’s huge. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/06/13 10:12 PM

    This was an advertisement, now it’s an ee cummings poem.

    i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
    my heart)i am never without it(anywhere
    i go you go,my dear;and whatever is done
    by only me is your doing,my darling)
    i fear
    no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want
    no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)
    and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
    and whatever a sun will always sing is you

    here is the deepest secret nobody knows
    (here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
    and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
    higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)
    and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

    i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

  2. 05/06/13 11:06 PM

    How did you get past the guards? Hmm.

  3. 06/22/13 10:22 AM

    Hey would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different
    browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Cheers, I appreciate it!

  4. 08/05/13 6:52 PM

    Hello, I enjoy reading through your post. I wanted to write a little comment
    to support you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 864 other followers

