Skip to content

Commentary on Yahoo’s Stats Nerd Sunday

01/26/11
by

As many of you have pointed out to me over the past couple of days, the Puck Daddy blog on Yahoo is now running a weekly column called Stats Nerd Sundays by Matt Barr.  Sound Familiar?  Puck Daddy Editor Greg Wyshynski has assured members of Black and Blue and Gold’s staff that the similarity to the Vulgar Statistics column that I typically write on Sundays is merely coincidental and I trust Wyshynski’s integrity enough to believe him.

I also do not think that SNS is in any way a threat or a slight to Vulgar Statistics, rather the opposite.  The proposition of new ideas from a fresh perspective only encourages innovation.  Matt Barr may be able to build off things that I write here and vice versa which will (hopefully) lead to a better understanding of hockey.  That can only be a good thing.

I have exchanged a few e-mails with Matt Barr, specifically about his first column and the discussion has been encouraging.  I did like what Barr was trying to do, that is, to create a metric for measuring goalie value independent of cap hit and time spent shorthanded.  I just don’t think he did a very good job of it.  My biggest issue was that he didn’t provide a basis for his created stat, SOETAERT.  For all the reader knows, it’s merely a number he made up to satisfy his own confirmation bias.  (Note: Matt has told me that he will show how he calculated the SOETAERT on his website and update monthly.)  Because of that, I think the column fell pretty flat, and the comments on it were extremely negative.

Either way, I look forward to seeing Matt’s column, and I look forward to attempting to blow him out of the water every single week.  Time to step up my game.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 02/04/11 10:08 AM

    I hadn’t seen this til now, sorry to be late to it. I did put up a more thorough explanation of the methodology: http://ker.tw/g/8 Looking forward to the scrutiny you promise!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 867 other followers

