Skip to content

Sabres Re-sign Matt Ellis. Uh, What?

08/31/10
by


Matt Ellis re-signed with the Sabres today. Unless it’s on a two-way deal, I’m not very happy about it (and I’m a huge supporter of the guy).

So the Sabres re-signed Ellis. He’s a guy who gives 150% every shift for damn-near league minimum. He may not be the kind of fourth liner who kicks the crap out of folks, but he grinds like a freakin champ. But…I don’t like the move. At least, not unless he was signed to a two-way contract.

Here’s my beef – there’s just no room left for him. He’ll only ever be a fourth liner and the Sabres’ have their fourth line filled up with Cody McCormick, Paul Gaustad or Rob Niedermayer, and Patrick Kaleta. However, if he were to have been signed to a two-way deal, I’d love it. He’d teach the kids in Portland how to grind and play puck possession like a pro, while offering his skills if an injury were to occur in Buffalo.

No one knows the terms to the deal yet, so I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.
[[UPDATE: Turns out it's a two-way deal worth $105K at the AHL level and $625K at the NHL level. Thanks again for kicking butt, Cap Geek!]]

Regarding the picture, it was either a tiny pic of Ellis wearing the snazzy jersey that is now the Sabres’ home sweater or it was a pic of him wearing a slug with Kotalik behind him. T’was a no-brainer.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/31/10 11:13 PM

    Agree wholeheartedly. Probably the least exciting signing we could have made, haha. Personally I think it’s a depth signing, even if it’s a one way contract. If someone goes down with an injury I’d rather have Ellis taking a roster spot than Player X from Portland.

  2. 09/01/10 10:12 AM

    I irrationally love Matt Ellis. Not to the extent I irrationally love Matt Greene, but I still love him. I have a problem with guys named Matt, apparently. I want him to stay a Sabre and if he’s just insurance behind the top 12 or 13, that’s okay with me.

    • 09/01/10 10:34 AM

      I’m a big fan of Matt Ellis, too. That he’s 99% starting in Portland makes me happy for the same reason it does you – he’s a damn good depth forward and he’d be the first guy I would call up to fill in a 4th line injury.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 866 other followers

